Outside!

Outside! is a board game about life on the street. Development of the game started at the end of 2015. Above all, it is meant as an entertaining way to raise awareness about the issue of extreme poverty through the discovery of the reality faced on a daily basis by homeless people, which is quite unimaginable for the general public. The project stems from a homeless person’s observation: people who don’t live on the street have no idea what living on the street is really like.

The goal of this game is twofold: make the general public aware of this reality, and let homeless people share their experiences. They are the very conceivers of the game, with their stories, positive or negative, their tricks of the trade, and their knowledge of this way of life. The game is as realistic as possible and allows a character to develop in response to event cards, which represent stories and situations from the real-life experience of homeless people.

In 2019, DoucheFLUX was looking for a partner to market its board game Outside!. Two opportunities arose. First, the NGO CNCD-11.11.11 offered to include ‘Outside!’ in its  “Global inequalities” educational kit, comprising materials from twenty NGOs. A total of 700 boxes will be distributed to teachers and youth leaders. A partnership has also been established with the NGO Cultures & Santé, which will contribute its expertise in the creation of educational tools related to promoting health. In 2020, ‘Outside!’ will finally be available to the general public in its best shape!

 

Video : Outside! at Brussels Games Festival in August 2016

Video made by ARC ASBL on Vimeo

Outside!

Outside! est un jeu de société sur la vie dans la rue, dont l’élaboration a été lancée fin 2015. Avant tout, il s’agit d’un outil ludique qui vise à sensibiliser le grand public à la problématique de la grande pauvreté, via la découverte de la réalité de la vie dans la rue, qui est proprement inimaginable pour celui qui n’y est pas confronté. Le projet est né de la constatation d’une personne en situation précaire : les gens qui ne vivent pas dans la rue ne se rendent pas compte de ce que c’est vraiment.

L’objectif du jeu est double : sensibiliser le grand public à cette réalité, et permettre aux précaires de partager leurs expériences. Ce sont eux qui construisent le jeu grâce à leurs récits, positifs ou négatifs, leurs astuces et leur connaissance du quotidien dans la rue. A l’arrivée, le jeu doit coller le plus possible à la réalité en faisant cheminer le joueur dans une sorte de parcours du combattant. Pour cela, des cartes-événements reprenant des histoires et situations vraiment vécues par les précaires, viennent ponctuer le jeu qui se présente sous la forme d’un jeu de plateau.

En 2019, DoucheFLUX est allé à la recherche d’un éditeur. Deux pistes se sont ouvertes. D’une part, le CNCD-11.11.11 a proposé d’intégrer Outside!dans la mallette pédagogique « Inégalités mondiales », reprenant les outils de vingt ONG. Ces mallettes (700 !) seront distribuées à un public d’enseignant·e·s et d’animateur·trice·s socio-culturel·le·s. D’autre part, un partenariat a été mis en place avec Cultures&Santé ASBL qui apportera son expertise dans la réalisation d’outils pédagogiques liés aux questions de promotion de la santé. En 2020, Outside! sera enfin disponible pour le grand public et sous sa meilleure forme !

Vidéo : Outside! au Brussels Games Festival en août 2016

Vidéo réalisée par l’ASBL ARC sur Vimeo