Photo exhibition

Claude, Frank, Rabah & Sébastien

In February and March 2019, Julie de Bellaing shared some everyday moments with Claude, Frank, Rabah & Sébastien, regulars at DoucheFLUX. The photos she took were the result of these four inspiring encounters. Four completely different individuals, with their own histories and backgrounds, but which society labels collectively as "(ex-)homeless".

Wipe your feet before coming in

Ladies and gentlemen, before visiting this exhibition, we invite you to do a little mental exercise.
Think about your usual morning routine: breakfast, going to the bathroom, shower, brushing your teeth, etc. Now stretch it out in space. To have breakfast, you have to go to one area of ​​Brussels; to go to the toilet, another area; and to take a shower, yet a third one. Walk, walk, walk. Don't forget to stretch it out over time too, because these places are all shared spaces where the ticket is king and queues are the rule. Finally, put any concept of privacy and silence on hold. Let’s be clear, this routine is physically and psychologically draining. And on top of it comes the question of where to spend the night. You are spoiled for choice: shelters, emergency accommodation, squats, public spaces, the street... The most basic of comfort, shifting glances or insistent stares, noise, illness, violence, cold, theft... For the most part, nights are short and the days long.

This quick dive into the world of living on the stress is just a glimpse of a complex universe. The realities of homelessness are multiple and there are as many ways of experiencing them as there are individuals. However, beyond the material difficulties that homeless people face, they also face an intangible difficulty that we don’t even imagine: their dehumanisation. No matter how they are doing, what their story or journey is or has been, they feel like numbers, all put in the same basket, without a voice. Because this person doesn’t have (or no longer has) a house, he or she doesn't count, is worthless...

Info

Practical details:

  • 16 photos
  • 60 x 90cm
  • 13 horizontal photos & 3 vertical photos
  • black and white
  • legend and explanations in a booklet (French/Dutch)
  • a hook system for hanging

Free to 'rent' the photos, with a deposit of €50

Would you like to host this exhibition? Contact Elisabeth Mareels.

Expo photo

Claude, Frank, Rabah & Sébastien

En février et mars 2019, Julie de Bellaing a partagé quelques bribes du quotidien de Claude, Frank, Rabah & Sébastien, habitués de DoucheFLUX. Les photos exposées sont le fruit de ces quatre rencontres inspirantes. Quatre individus totalement différents, avec des histoires et des parcours propres mais que la société étiquette communément « (ex-)SDF ».

Essuyez vos pieds avant d’entrer

Mesdames et messieurs, avant de parcourir cette exposition nous vous invitons à faire un petit exercice de l’esprit.
Prenez votre routine habituelle du matin : petit-déjeuner, passage à la toilette, douche, brossage de dents, etc. Maintenant, étirez-la dans l’espace. Pour prendre votre petit-déjeuner, vous devez vous rendre dans un quartier de Bruxelles, pour aller aux toilettes dans un autre et pour prendre votre douche, dans un troisième. Marchez, marchez, marchez. N’oubliez pas de l’étirer également dans le temps, car ces lieux sont des espaces partagés où le ticket est roi et les files la règle. Enfin, mettez entre parenthèses les notions d’intimité et de silence. Ne tournons pas autour du pot, cette routine est physiquement et psychologiquement fatigante et à cela s’ajoute la question de savoir où passer la nuit. Vous avez l’embarras du choix : maisons d’accueil, hébergements d’urgence, squats, espace public, rue… Confort rudimentaire, regards fuyants ou insistants, bruit, maladies, violence, froid, vols… Pour la plupart, les nuits sont courtes et les journées souvent longues.

Cette rapide plongée dans le monde de la rue n’est qu’un aperçu d’un univers complexe. En effet, les réalités du sans-abrisme sont multiples et il y a autant de façon de vivre celles-ci qu’il y a d’individus. Cependant, au-delà des difficultés matérielles auxquelles les personnes sans abri sont confrontées, elles doivent faire face à une difficulté immatérielle que l’on ne soupçonne pas : leur déshumanisation. Peu importe comment elles vont, quelle est leur histoire, leur parcours, elles se sentent comme des numéros, toutes mis dans le même panier, sans voix. Parce que cette personne n’a pas ou plus de maison, elle ne compte pas, elle ne vaut plus rien…

Info

Infos techniques :

  • 16 photos
  • 60 x 90 cm
  • 13 photos horizontales 3 photos verticales
  • noir & blanc
  • légende et contextualisation dans un livret
  • système d'accrochage avec des crochets

Location gratuite mais garantie de 50€

Vous voulez invitez cette expo chez vous ? Envoyer un mail à Elisabeth Mareels